Paratriathlon

All of our paratriathlon programs are integrated in our scheduled programs.

Paratriathlon Background in brief:

WHO: Paratriathlon events are for athletes with physical and visual impairments. See the Categories section below for more details.

WHAT: Sprint Distance Triathlon - 750m swim, 20km bike, 5km run.

WHERE: International, National or Local events. Most race directors will try to accommodate paratriathletes when requested.

WHY: Paratriathlon is unique in that if fully integrates athletes with physical and visual impairments alongside their able bodied counterparts at the same event.

WHEN: Check your Triathlon Provincial Sport Organization’s race calendar website for local events or for International Paratriathlon Races visit www.triathlon.org/paratriathlon.

 

 


Sport Classes

There are five sport classes in Paratriathlon:

  • PT1 - Wheelchair users. Includes athletes with comparable activity limitation and an impairment of, but not limited to:  muscle power, limb deficiency, hypertonia, ataxia, athetosis that prevent the ability to safely ride a conventional bike and run. Through classification assessment, athletes must have a score of up to 640,0 points. Athletes must use a recumbent handcycle on the bike course and a racing wheelchair on the run segment.
  • PT2 - Includes athletes with comparable activity limitation and an impairment of, but not limited to, limb deficiency, hypertonia, ataxia and or athetosis, impaired muscle power or range of movement that through classification assessment have a score of up to 454,9 points. In both bike and run segments, amputee athletes may use approved prosthesis or other supportive devices.
  • PT3 - Includes athletes with comparable activity limitation and an impairment of, but not limited to, limb deficiency, hypertonia, ataxia and or athetosis, impaired muscle power or range of movement that through classification assessment have a score from 455,0 to 494,9 points. In both bike and run segments, the athlete may use approved prosthesis or other supportive devices.
  • PT4 - Includes athletes with comparable activity limitation and an impairment of, but not limited to, limb deficiency, hypertonia, ataxia and or athetosis, impaired muscle power or range of movement that through classification assessment have a score from 495,0 to 557,0 points included. In both bike and run segments, the athlete may use approved prosthesis or other supportive devices..
  • PT5 - Total or Partial visual Impairment (IBSA/IPC defined sub-classes B1, B2, and B3): Includes athletes who are totally blind, from no light perception in either eye, to some light perception but unable to recognize the shape of a hand at any distance or in any direction (B1) and partially sighted athletes with a visual acuity of less than 6/60 vision or visual field less than 20 degrees with best corrective vision (B2-B3). A guide from the same nationality and gender is mandatory throughout the race. Must ride a tandem during the bike segment.

 

ITU has completed a first phase of its Research Project in Paratriathlon in order to implement an evidence-based classification system. This project has engaged a number of researchers and members of ITU Paratriathlon Committee and staff. The new classification system will be implemented throughout the 2014 season and all athletes will need to undergo classification under this system.

Last edited on 27/10145 - Check http://www.triathlon.org/paratriathlon/categories for the latest categories.

Programme d'entraînement para

Tous nos programme de paratriathlon sont intégrés dans nos programmes réguliers.

Aperçu sur le Paratriathlon :

QUI : Les événements de Paratriathlon sont pour les athlètes ayant une déficience physique ou visuelle. Consultez la section ci-dessous des Catégories pour en savoir plus.

QUOI : Triathlon sur distance sprint – natation 750 m, cyclisme 20 km, course à pied 5 km.

OÙ : Événements internationaux, nationaux ou locaux. La plupart des directeurs de course feront le nécessaire pour inclure les compétiteurs de Paratriathlon, au besoin.

POURQUOI : Le Paratriathlon se distingue du fait d’intégrer complètement les athlètes ayant un handicap physique ou visuel pour concourir aux côtés de leurs confrères valides dans le cadre d’une même épreuve.

QUAND : Consultez le calendrier des événements sur le site Web de votre Organisme provincial de sport de triathlon pour avoir les détails sur les événements locaux. Pour les épreuves internationales, visitez le site www.triathlon.org/paratriathlon.

 

 


 

 

Catégories :

 

Il existe cinq classes de sport en paratriathlon:

  • PT1 - utilisateurs de fauteuils roulants. Comprend les athlètes ayant limitation comparable de l'activité et une perte de valeur, mais non limités à: la puissance musculaire, la carence en branche, hypertonie, ataxie, athétose qui empêchent la possibilité de rouler en toute sécurité un vélo conventionnel et courir. Grâce à une évaluation de la classification, les athlètes doivent avoir un score allant jusqu'à 640,0 points. Les athlètes doivent utiliser un vélo à main en position couchée sur le parcours de vélo et un fauteuil de course sur le segment de l'exécution.
  • PT2 - Comprend les athlètes ayant limitation comparable de l'activité et une perte de valeur, mais sans s'y limiter, la carence en branche, hypertonie, ataxie et ou athétose, la puissance musculaire altérée ou l'amplitude de mouvement que par l'évaluation de classification ont un score d'un maximum de 454,9 points. Dans les deux segments de vélo et course, Amputé athlètes peuvent utiliser des prothèses approuvée ou autres dispositifs de soutien.
  • PT3 - Comprend les athlètes ayant limitation comparable de l'activité et une perte de valeur, mais sans s'y limiter, la carence en branche, hypertonie, ataxie et ou athétose, la puissance musculaire altérée ou l'amplitude de mouvement que par l'évaluation de classification ont un score de 455,0 à 494,9 des points. Dans les deux segments de vélo et course, l'athlète peut utiliser prothèse approuvée ou autres dispositifs de soutien.
  • PT4 - Comprend les athlètes ayant limitation comparable de l'activité et une perte de valeur, mais sans s'y limiter, la carence en branche, hypertonie, ataxie et ou athétose, la puissance musculaire altérée ou l'amplitude de mouvement que par l'évaluation de classification ont un score de 495,0 à 557,0 les points inclus. Dans les deux segments de vélo et course, l'athlète peut utiliser prothèse approuvée ou autres dispositifs de soutien ..
  • PT5 - Total ou une déficience visuelle partielle (IBSA / IPC défini des sous-catégories B1, B2 et B3): Comprend les athlètes qui sont totalement aveugles, de l'absence de perception de la lumière dans les deux yeux, dans une

 

Dernière modification le 27/10/15 - voir http://www.triathlon.org/paratriathlon/categories